Multiple Conference Awards for Hilltopper Men's Golf

Multiple Conference Awards for Hilltopper Men's Golf

   WARREN, Ohio – The West Liberty University men’s golf team claimed numerous Mountain East Conference honors here Thursday after a strong final round earned the Hilltoppers a runner-up finish in the weather-shortened MEC Tournament at Avalon Lakes Golf Course.

    After leading virtually wire to wire, All-Region junior Alex Easthom defeated Davis & Elkins’ Evan Lewis in a sudden-death playoff to win the medal championship and earn MEC Player of the Year honors at the post-tournament Awards Ceremony.

   Lewis had birdied the final hole of the 36-hole tournament to pull into a tie with Easthom at 4-over-par 148 only to see the Hilltopper veteran prevail in the playoff.

   Easthom wasn’t the only West Liberty player in the spotlight on Thursday. Howard Peterson IV, a junior from Weirton, W.Va., charged up the leaderboard down the stretch to shoot a 1-over-par 73 and finish third in the medal chase at 6-over-par 150.

   Bo Orecchio, a true freshman from New Concord, Ohio, shot a 5-over-par 77 for the final round to earn MEC Freshman of the Year honors with a 15-over-par 159.

   Easthom earned his third straight first-team All-MEC while Peterson moved up to first team after achieving second team status a year ago. Orecchio’s 9th-place finish in the medal chase was good for second-team All-MEC honors.

   Davis & Elkins held off Coach Thadd Obecny’s Hilltoppers to claim the MEC team championship with a strong 36-hole total of 606. West Liberty was second at 621 followed by Charleston (638), Concord (646) and Fairmont State (671). 


The Battle at the Shores

MEC Championship

Avalon Lakes GC

(7,245 yards – par 72)

Final Round

Team Scoring

    1. Davis & Elkins 606; 2. WEST LIBERTY 621; 3. Charleston 638; 4. Concord 646; 5. Fairmont State 671; 6. W.Va. Wesleyan 674; 7. Notre Dame (Ohio) 682; 8. Wheeling 686; 9. Glenville State 709

West Liberty Individuals

    148: Alex Easthom (72-76)

    150: Howard Peterson IV (77-73)

    159: Bo Orecchio (82-77)

    166: Austin Lis (84-82)

    167: Caleb Moore (82-85)

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content