Alvaro Aguilar Alvarez Wins Round 1 of PBR's Wheeling Invitational

Alvaro Aguilar Alvarez Wins Round 1 of PBR's Wheeling Invitational

WHEELING, W.V. – As the PBR’s (Professional Bull Riders) Pendleton Whisky Velocity Tour made its triumphant return to Wheeling, West Virginia, and WesBanco Arena Friday evening, no rider was more dominant than Alvaro Aguilar Alvarez (La Punta Lagos Moreno, Mexico). Delivering the high-marked ride of his career on the league’s expansion series, the Mexican sensation won Round 1 of the Wheeling Invitational, earning crucial world points as he seeks his career-first berth to the PBR World Finals.

As one of the first riders to erupt from the chutes in the Mountain State, Alvarez jumped to an early lead, covering Keep ‘em Guesin (UTC/Sellers Bucking Bulls) for 89 points. The ride was unmatched throughout the remainder of the evening, earning Alvarez the round victory.

For his efforts, Alvarez netted a crucial 7 world points, propelling him from No. 63 to No. 57 in the PBR world standings. He now trails the Top 35 and the threshold to qualify for the 2021 PBR World Finals in Las Vegas (Nov. 3-7) by 116.67 points.

Second was 2017 PBR Mexico Champion Francisco Morales (Irapuato, Mexico), collecting 4 world points.

The 39-year-old veteran covered Beefcake (Dustin Denning) for a commanding 86.5 points to clinch the silver finish.

Compliments of his 86-point score atop Last Chance (Sho-Me Rodeo), 2002 PBR World Champion Ednei Caminhas (Indaiatuba, Brazil) was third.

The score, which brought the raucous crowd to its feet, earned Caminhas 3 world points.

Rounding out the Top 5 were Ramon de Lima (Rio Branco, Brazil) and Austin Beaty (Bedford, Virginia), who tied for fourth.

Lima and Beaty recorded matching 85-point scores, making the 8 aboard Drax (Cannon Cattle Co.) and Zacchaeus (Jenkins Cattle Co.), respectively. Each rider netted 1.5 world points.

For Lima, the score was crucial as he attempts to ascend back into the world’s Top 35 and qualify for his fifth consecutive PBR World Finals. Remaining No. 51 in the world, Lima now trails the cutoff to earn a berth to the sport’s most prestigious event by 87.67 points.

With the bulls proving the more powerful athletes Friday evening, only one other rider recorded a score in the opening round of competition.

Finishing sixth and earning 1 world point was Eder Barbosa (Goiabeira, Brazil). He rode Bosco (Cannon Cattle) for 81 points.

PBR Pendleton Whisky Velocity Tour action from Wheeling, West Virginia, and WesBanco Arena continues on Saturday, October 9 with Round 2 and the championship round. Action gets underway at 7:00 p.m. EDT.

PBR Pendleton Whisky Velocity Tour – Wheeling Invitational

WesBanco Arena – Wheeling, West Virginia

Event Leaders (Round 1-Round 2-Round 3-Event Aggregate-Event Points)

1. Alvaro Aguilar Alvarez, 89-0-0-89.00-7 Points.

2. Francisco Morales, 86.5-0-0-86.50-4 Points.

3. Ednei Caminhas, 86-0-0-86.00-3 Points.

4. Ramon de Lima, 85-0-0-85.00-1.5 Points.

(tie). Austin Beaty, 85-0-0-85.00-1.5 Points.

6. Eder Barbosa, 81-0-0-81.00-1 Points.

Fernando Henrique Novais, 0-0-0-0.00

Michael Lane, 0-0-0-0.00

Dakota Louis, 0-0-0-0.00

Cody Casper, 0-0-0-0.00

Leonardo Lima, 0-0-0-0.00

Grayson Cole, 0-0-0-0.00

Kyle Jones, 0-0-0-0.00

Lane Nobles, 0-0-0-0.00

Marcos Gloria, 0-0-0-0.00

Cole Skender [1], 0-0-0-0.00

Cole Skender [2], 0-0-0-0.00

Joe Hostetler, 0-0-0-0.00

Thor Hoefer II, 0-0-0-0.00

Bob Mitchell, 0-0-0-0.00

Logan Biever, 0-0-0-0.00

D.J. Parker, 0-0-0-0.00

Quentin Vaught, 0-0-0-0.00

Rubens Barbosa, 0-0-0-0.00

Venn Johns, 0-0-0-0.00

Eduardo de Oliveira, 0-0-0-0.00

Josh Steele, 0-0-0-0.00

Bryan Titman, 0-0-0-0.00

Devon Weaver, 0-0-0-0.00

Matt Oliver, 0-0-0-0.00

Jason Landing, 0-0-0-0.00

Alex Jenks, 0-0-0-0.00

Eli Miller, 0-0-0-0.00

Brandon Chambers, 0-0-0-0.00

Zach Laney, 0-0-0-0.00

Brandon Ballard, 0-0-0-0.00

Eric Spence, 0-0-0-0.00

Tristen Marshall, 0-0-0-0.00

Jared Avina, 0-0-0-0.00

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content