No. 4 WLU Wrestlers Make Short Work of Wheeling

No. 4 WLU Wrestlers Make Short Work of Wheeling

WEST LIBERTY, W.Va. – The No. 4-ranked West Liberty University wrestling team made short work of their final dual match of the season here Tuesday, sprinting to a 43-3 victory over Wheeling inside the McDonough Center.

   With only three Cardinal wrestlers available, the match wrapped up in a hurry.

   Following a double forfeit at 125 pounds, Wheeling's Chase Montgomery eked out a 6-2 decision against WLU's Luke Miller to give the hosts a short-lived 3-0 lead.

   West Liberty went ahead to stay with back-to-back forfeit wins at 141 (Brayden Johnson) and 149 (Breagan Pearson) before Blake Miller dominated the hosts' Brennon Reid in a 13-2 major decision at 157.

   Four more Hilltoppers strolled to the center of the mat to have their hand raised for forfeit wins – Marcus Jean-Baptiste (165), Marshall Whipkey (174), Drake Kendrex (184) and Keaton Grider (197) – before Jamie Kilmer wrapped things up with an 11-5 decision over the Cardinals' Clarouly Meca at 285.

   "It was great for a number of our guys to have one more chance to get back out on the mat," Irwin said. "It's all preparation for moments to come as well as earning accolades like Scholar All-American awards.

   "I was especially happy for Marcus Jean-Baptiste. We've been together now for five years and seeing him get his hand raised one more time means the world to me. He has played an instrumental role in our success on the hilltop over the last three years."

   Coach Irwin and his West Liberty wrestlers can now spend the next 10 days getting ready to defend their NCAA Division II Super Region 3 championship. The Hilltoppers have been chosen to host this year's Super Regional inside the ASRC on Feb. 26.



#4 West Liberty 43, Wheeling 3

125: Double forfeit

133: Chase Montgomery (WU) d. Luke Miller (WLU), 6-2

141: Brayden Johnson (WLU) won by forfeit

149: Breagan Pearson (WLU) won by forfeit

157: Blake Miller (WLU) md. Brennon Reid (WU), 13-2

165: Marcus Jean-Baptiste (WLU) won by forfeit

174: Marshall Whipkey (WLU) won by forfeit

184: Drake Kendrex (WLU) won by forfeit

197: Keaton Grider (WLU) won by forfeit

285: Jamie Kilmer (WLU) d. Clarouly Meca (WU), 11-5

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content